Hello to everyone! or should I say, "Hello World"?
I am new to C and new to this forum, and this is my first post.

I wrote a simple C program which I called: isitprime.c and generated isitprime.exe.
I can call this program isitprime.exe from the command line with an integer number and the program will tell me if the number is prime. For instance, if I do this in the command line:

isitprime 5

it will tell me that it is a prime number. Of course if the number is not prime it will say so.

Now, I am writing another C program which I will use to ask the user to enter an integer representing the maximum number of primes to check. Let me explain with an example since this is a bit confusing.

The new program is called: genprime.c and its corresponding genprime.exe.

I want to:

1 - Type: genprime 10000
2 - genprime sets a loop from 2 to 10000, skipping the even numbers.
3 - genprime needs to call isitprime n where n is the loop index. In other words, isitprime gets called from genprime.

The question is, how do I call from a C program, another C program passing a parameter from the caller to the target?

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Use IPC techniques. In particular, a pipe would be best suited. Of course you're totally over-engineering the problem and making it ten times harder than it should be. :icon_rolleyes:

How about this approach:

Project(Main Task)
                      | 
              -----------------
              |               |
   Code for task 1            Code for task 2

You can try this, instead of actually compiling two programs separately and trying to call one from the other.

exactly...he can simply use a common header, a isPrime.c, a genPrime.c and finally a main.c which calls the two. Inside genPrime.c he can simply call isPrime(n) which is inside isPrime.c. Offcourse he needs prototypes or a common header.