Hi,

I am new in C, trying to create a simple C file, that assign a value for a struct member with the type of string. I can't figure out why it said error : string.c:20: error: expected expression before ‘{’ token, but I don't find any syntax error..

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

typedef struct _str {
	char *s;
	int len;
} str;

typedef struct create_session {
    str mouse;
} create_session; 

void bzero (void *__s, size_t __n) __THROW __nonnull ((1));

int main()
{
 	create_session *msg_p = 0;
	create_session msg;
 	bzero(&msg, sizeof(create_session));
 	msg.mouse = {"1234567",7};
	msg_p = &msg;
	return 1;
}

Can anyone help me with this error?

thank you

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

With gcc (I'm not sure about other compilers since I think this is an extension) you can do this in one shot. For instance:

typedef struct _str {
   const char * s;
   int len;
} str;

typedef struct cs {
   str mouse;
} cs;

int main () {
   cs msg = {
      .mouse = { "1234567", 7 }
   };
   /* ... */
}

However, to use the initializer syntax you need to do so when you declare the object; it is not legal to use it to assign to an existing object as you are attempting to do.

int main () {
   cs msg = {
      .mouse = { "1234567", 7 }
   };
   /* ... */
}

Hm, it works. But I don't understand above about this way of assigning value (in line 3 above) for the struct member (you have array inside array? no need to allocate memory?)
Can you point out, which term I can use to google about this kind way of assigning value inside a struct member? usually we assign just with (dot) isn't it?

Thank you

Hm, it works. But I don't understand above about this way of assigning value (in line 3 above) for the struct member (you have array inside array? no need to allocate memory?)
Can you point out, which term I can use to google about this kind way of assigning value inside a struct member? usually we assign just with (dot) isn't it?