my teacher has told me to make a flag(India's national flag) in C using lines, bar and all. then fill colors. i have done this thing when i am writing this thread. now, he also told me now that the flag should look like as if it waving in the air means i have to do animation now according to him. will any one please tell me the basic idea that how to approach this ? means i am just a beginner in graphics.h lib. so just give me a way ho to proceed. i am not asking for ANY CODE FROM YOUR SIDE, I AM TELLING AT THIS TIME ONLY. help!!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You won't need animation -- just curved lines.
Check out this picture of a wavy flag.
...or this other picture

no, but he has said us to use the animation in that. ok! assume that he hasn't said animation. but i am asking that how to make effect that it will look that the flag is waving in air ?

Let's start with the basics.

You're going to print out a set of characters in an array on a screen.
You're going to jiggle the characters by a wavy function, let's say the sine function.
You're going to output in color. Each character in the array has a color assigned to it.
You will have to clear the screen or erase or write over every character so you don't have garbage left over when you do a drawing pass.
You're going to want to use a while loop that breaks on key press, but also increments a value that controls what vertical offset will be used.

Let's say we have a character array:

and we want it to look like

45  5433
5    544

(to be continued...)

Let's view this a little differently with the offsets at the top:

2|1|0|0|1|2|3|3
===============
 | |1|1| | | | 
 |1|2|2|1| | | 
1|2|3|3|2|1| | 
2|3|4|4|3|2|1|1
3|4|5|5|4|3|2|2
4|5| | |5|4|3|3
5| | | | |5|4|4
 | | | | | |5|5

So for this particular array, we would use an offset array of 2,1,0,0,1,2,3,3. The array has a length of 8.
The offset array repeats smoothly. That means we can leave the end of the offset array and start back from the beginning.