Hey there,

I'm having issues with a custom string tokenizer I'm using for an assignment. I've looked around and haven't managed to find anything that really answers my question, so here goes nothing.

Whenever I run the program and it runs the tokenizer, I get a seg fault. I'm fairly new to pointer arithmetic, so if someone could push me in the right direction, that would be great. Here is the offending function and main function:

char** tokenize(char* str, char ch, char** arr){

while(*str != '\0'){ /*While we have not reached the end of the string*/

if(*str == ch){

str++; /*Increment str*/
                arr++; /*Increment arr*/
            }

**arr = *str; /*The character at arr's current string = the character at str.*/
            *arr++; /*Next character in arr's string*/
            str++; /*Next memory location in str.*/
        }

return arr;
}

int main(int argc, char *argv[]){

char* input = (char*)malloc(sizeof(char) * MAXLINE);
    char** buf = (char**)malloc(sizeof(char*) * (MAXLINE/2));
    int i = 0;

for(;;){

printf("sedit>> ");
        fgets(input,MAXLINE,stdin);

buf = tokenize(input,' ',buf);
        printf("%s",*buf);

printf("%s",input);
        printf("\n");

}

return 0;
}

Thank you kindly!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

should it work same as strtok ? try not to use malloc and use array index instead of pointer arithmetic then when it works you can try pointer arithmetic(just increment address instead of index) and malloc
Make working code and convert would be more easy maybe :)

Maybe because your pointer-to-pointer arr doesn't really have the memory to store the tokens; it's just an array of pointers.

What you could do is after creating the array of pointers, allocate memory for strings to every single pointer in the array.

Also, personally, I find that calloc() is easier to read than malloc() when dealing with anything that isn't simply a single slab of memory. ;P just throwing that out there. lol