Hello,
I am fairly new to c and i am finding it hard to spot why a part of a program I am making is not working. The program lets you work out the area and circumference of a circle. This is the code:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

int area() ;
int circ() ;

int main()
{

char choice ;

printf("\n Do you want circumference(c) or area(a): ") ;
scanf("%c" , &choice ) ;
if(choice = 'c') { int circ() ; }
if(choice = 'a') { int area() ; }
else { int main() ; }

return 0 ;
}

int area()
{
float radius , pi = 3.141592 ;

printf( "What is the radius: ") ;
scanf( "%f" , &radius ) ;
printf( "\n The Area is %f \n" , pi*(radius*radius) ) ;
return 0 ;
}

The issue is that after i type a letter in for the first input, it stops runninig the program. The compiler that I am using (cygwin) did not give me any errors.I have not finished yet.

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

line 18 and 19 are wrong. int circle() is a function prototype, not a function call.

if(choice = 'c') { circ() ; }

line 20: never, ever call main(). Even though it's a function it is reserved for call by the operating system when the program starts. Instead, you should put lines 16-19 in a loop.

Also line 20 else { int main() ; }
This is another function prototype, though even if you wrote:

else
{
    main();  // recursive call to main
}

Recursively calling main() should not be done.

In function: int area() you may as well change it to void area() as you are not returning any result of the function.
So either change to return; or you can omit the return

Also,when u declare char,u may declare like this char choice[2],then in the if else,u may do like this, if (choice[0]=='c') s0 the program will go check to that char

Also,when u declare char,u may declare like this char choice[2],then in the if else,u may do like this, if (choice[0]=='c') s0 the program will go check to that char