Hi guys

This is my first post and I must say that this forum has quite a professional feel to it. I am currently in my final semester to achieve my B.Sc in Information Systems and as such I have a project module to complete. I have a personal mission to apply the skills and lessons learnt from my IS/IT studies to help solve social issues afflicting many people. As such the project topic is concerned with delivering public services from a wide variety of agencies utilizing the web and internet technologies under the name CIRA (Community Improvement and Resource Allocation). In terms of extension, I hope to also design an initial schema for a data warehousing system for CIRA. This project is due at the beginning of February 2008, and at present I am working on my implementation phase as most of the relevant analysis and design has already been completed. Factors that motivate and drive my thinking are innovation, ethics in computers, and integration of concepts.

With respect to my implementation I have chosen to develop an XML-based website and I have used XSLT for presentation with some success . I also found that XSLT can link quite nicely to PHP which will be used to dynamically generate my HTML. I am also using Oracle 10g XE to store details such as citizen data, and available services, which will be connected through PHP. From my research I understand that the OCI8 extension should be used to connect PHP with Oracle.