I need help in analyzing loop structures. I am a student and need to know this for a class.
In my first example here:
for (int i=1;i<=n;i++)
for (int j=1;j<=n;j++)
I need to figure out how to analyze that this loop runs n^2 times. (This was an example given in a later class is the only reason I know that much). The instructor wants for us to set up a table as such:

i _____ j _____ # of reps
1 _____ n _____ n
2 _____ n _____ n
3 _____ n _____ n

Another example is this:
for (int i=1;i<=n;i++)
for (int j=1;j<=i;j++)
According to the instructor the table should look like

i _____ j _____ # of reps
1 _____ 1->1 _____ 1
2 _____ 1->2 _____ 2
3 _____ 1->3 _____ 3

and from that table I am supposed to be able to infer that (n(n-1))/2.
Can anyone give me an answer that sounds like it is in plain English or give me some terms to search in Google. I have tried very hard to find this subject using multiple search engines and am comming up empty. Thanks for any help.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I hate dumb instructors.

I would just add up how many times the very inside part executes.

In the first example, the inner loop executes its inside n times each time it's run, and the inner loop gets run n times. So the inside of the inner loop gets run n*n times. Easy, right?

In the second example, the very inside of the inner loop gets hit 1 time the first time the inner loop runs, then 2 times the second time the inner loop runs, and then 3 times, and then 4 times, and so on, until the last time it's run, it runs n times, for whatever value n is.

Adding those numbers up, we see that the very inside is hit this many times:

1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + ... + (n-2) + (n-1) + n

What's that sum? Using pure *math*, we can find that the expression adds up to n(n+1)/2.

And so the inner loop gets run n(n+1)/2 times. It looks like your professor (who said n(n-1)/2) was wrong.