Hi, I have a question here:

imagine we want to write a function that checks if a given binary tree is a valid binary search tree ( the tree is in the form of objects/embedded references). What is the best time complexity possible for such a function?

I'm new to this Big-Oh stuff; I'm not sure how to apply Big-Oh to algorithms and programs. If there are n nodes, to check if a binary tree is a BST, you will have to do n comparisons. So, if you put 4 more nodes into the tree, you will have to do 4 more comparisons. So would it have to be O(n)?
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Well this is essentially a transversal problem. You need to verify that
the left child of the parent is less than, and the right child of the parent
has to be greater than the parent. So essentially you will have to
transverse the whole binary tree. Whats the usual transversal, algorithm
that you are use to ? Whats its complexity ?

thanks a lot for replying to my thread, I appreciate it.

I went ahead and coded this:

(In python)

def is_bst(root):

a = b = True

if not(root.left or root.right):
        return True

if root.left:
        a = root.left.data < root.data and is_bst(root.left)

if root.right:
        b = root.right.data > root.data and is_bst(root.right)

return a and b

This might not even be the "best possible time complexity" possible as the question states.. But anyway, I have some issues with these "complexity measures". I'm currently in an introductory computer science/programming course, and we haven't really been through this rigourously at all. What are we even trying to measure? Sometimes I hear the number of "steps" a program has to execute, and sometimes I hear the number of time it takes. But if we're to measure the time it takes, that would depend on a lot of things wouldn't it? I don't know how long it takes for my program to call a function, or to access an object from a pointer.. et c.