Hello everyone,

The questions is below. Please bear with me.

I'm a first year student, majoring in computer science. I have just finished an introductory course in the java programming language.

I already know that what i type to program in java is a source code that has to be compiled to java bytecode or class file in order for the virtual machine to translate that code into a language that the computer understands, which is only zero's and one's.

How could a JFrame, an image file, a video file or a text file etc... be represented by only a bunch of 000000's and 1111111's? how could the computer display these data?

Does the answer to this question relates more to computer science or computer engineering?

Is it good or bad to think this way for a first year student?

Sorry because my post is very tall. and thanks for bearing with me.

Best regards,

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

As you know the computer only does math, the compiled programs just tell the computer what functions to use based off the numbers, the CPU decodes all of the instructions coming in to it and does what is asked. Most of the time though you won't be dealing with binary but rather compiled code that runs using the help of the Kernel.

Video/text/image files are quite different, they are stored in an encoding so one of your programs can understand it, rather than the CPU or Kernel.

The question definitely relates to computer science, because most of the time all of this is managed by the Kernel, which is still software.

Its great thinking this way as a first year student, many people don't wonder at all and end up missing everything around them.

commented: Great, Thanks for replying +1

>How could a JFrame, an image file, a video file or a text file etc...
>be represented by only a bunch of 000000's and 1111111's?