I've wondered about this for quite a while now and thought I would post a question. How do you Software Engineers/Developers keep track of the knowledge you have gained from working on software projects? I suppose I'm relatively new to development (< 5 years) but have completed a number of projects in the last months I'm finding myself forgetting how I did things in a previous project when I see a similar problem present itself.

I would like to know how some of you more experienced developers keep track of your old solutions. I was thinking about setting up a Wiki, but that would be a lot of manual maintenance. That is of course unless any of you know of a Wiki tool that can self-generate pages from source code?

Hey, there's another project idea...

Thanks for the feedback

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I have a battered old notebook with scribbles all over it. :)

I have two three-ring binders with printouts of my code and documentation from the past. The stuff I write for myself doesn't usually get printed, but everything I do for class I put in there.

Sometimes it's nice to be able to flip through a binder rather than cd/type/cd my way through a file system.

I've wondered about this for quite a while now and thought I would post a question. How do you Software Engineers/Developers keep track of the knowledge you have gained from working on software projects? I suppose I'm relatively new to development (< 5 years) but have completed a number of projects in the last months I'm finding myself forgetting how I did things in a previous project when I see a similar problem present itself.

I would like to know how some of you more experienced developers keep track of your old solutions. I was thinking about setting up a Wiki, but that would be a lot of manual maintenance. That is of course unless any of you know of a Wiki tool that can self-generate pages from source code?

Hey, there's another project idea...

Thanks for the feedback