Hello everyone,

I'm an amateur programmer, and I am working on a program to help me practice my mental math. The essence of this program is that the user inputs an expression which will be the form of each question. Their goal is to solve those expressions as fast as they can.

For example, let's say I input a quadratic formula of (ax^2 + bx + c). My program will then read each variable in the equation, and allow the user to specify minimum and maximum values for each variable, as well as the increments. From this, it will randomly generate values for each variable in these limits and provide questions such as "(6)5^2 + 5 + 3 = ?". Hopefully, this program will help bolster my mental math abilities, and in the future, I intend to add questions about graphing, discriminants, and transformations to it.

The reason that I am here is because I need a parser in order to extract the variables and ensure that the equation is valid. My area of expertise is not in parsing, so I would appreciate advice and input as to how to implement it.