Hi all!

I've been searching the internet and various C++ books for quite some time now, and I appear to have reached a brick wall.

As suggested in a given algorithm written by my professor, during input validation, if the stream goes into failure, I am to "reset cin" followed by "clear cin.."

Even though I'm still learning the ins and outs of C++, I have found this way of doing it:

cin.clear();
cin.ignore(250, '/n')

Now, this would be fine and dandy, however that does not exactly match the given algorithm (as mentioned above).

After spending way too much time trying to find a reset function, I came across" cin.reset(); on one lone website.

Upon trying to implement my hopeful find, I my complier spits out "‘struct std::istream’ has no member named ‘reset’" which, if I'm not mistaken, refers to a missing header file.

And, yes, I have tried numerous header files.

Aside from CIN reset, which appears to be a totally different bowl of cheerios, I can only find a tiny handful of cin.reset(); mentioned elsewhere on the internet. Even my C++ textbooks, and "C++ in a Nutshell" make no mention of cin.reset(); Can anyone shed some insight on cin.reset() ? Does it really exist?

If so, what header file do I need to include?

Am I worrying about the exact wording of my prof's algorithm too much and just use

cin.clear();
cin.ignore(250, '/n')

?

I'd really appreciate any insight I can get on this.

Thanks in advance and have a wonderful Saturday!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

>Can anyone shed some insight on
>cin.reset()? Does it really exist?
No. By "reset", hopefully your professor meant for you to flush it.

>Am I worrying about the exact wording of my prof's algorithm too much and just use
You are, but he also didn't really communicate the task to you very well. Your solution is quite likely what he wanted, and you can improve it by reading the thread I linked to above.

Thanks a lot for responding. I really appreciate it.

Ok...here we go...