Hey I'm pretty new to C++. I'm taking a class on it now but I don't know how to make sounds in C++... I've done QBasic so I have a little programming background. I'm right now thinking of what to do for a program, and it largely depends on if I can make sounds or not and what sounds. I'm hoping to make some sort of dial up sound. If you can point me in the right direction or help me in any way, it'd be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :mrgreen:

-Dem-

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

C and C++ do not have built-in standard support for sound. You will need to mention your compiler and OS and look into sound libraries.

I'm using DevC++ from Bloodshed and my OS is XP. I looked at the libraries and have no idea which is sound :cry:

Dem

I assume you are using Windows. With your knowledge in basic you should look into BCX. It programs in a modern basic and then translates to compile with a number of C or C++ compilers. I look at C is just a subset of C++, well let's say 99% of it is.

BCX comes with a fair number of sound examples. Look over the generated C code to get an understanding of the API calls it makes.

You can download the whole system for free from:
http://www.rjpcomputing.com/programming/bcx/devsuite.html

I have used BCX to learn the finer points of C and C++ myself for quite a while, and recommend it as a learning tool!

For simple sounds on the internal speaker use a Windows API call to Beep(), the code below should work with most any C++ compiler. I tested it with the Dev C++ IDE that uses the very generic GNU compiler G++.

// simple sounds via Beep(frequency_hrz, duration_ms)

#include <iostream>
#include <windows.h>   // WinApi header

using namespace std;

int main()
{
  Beep(523,500);  // 523 hertz (C5) for 500 milliseconds
  Beep(587,500);
  Beep(659,500);
  Beep(698,500);
  Beep(784,500);

cin.get(); // wait
  return 0;
}

I'm using DevC++ from Bloodshed and my OS is XP. I looked at the libraries and have no idea which is sound :cry:

Dem