Hello,
I am trying to write a program where i have to read a CSV file(obtained by converting an excel file having only 1 column of integers) into an array and then to display the same array as another CSV file. I am using Turbo C++ 4.5.
I've tried, but since i am a beginner with this programming, i was unable to do it.
Any advice would be really helpful.

Thanks,
Anuroop

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

The first thing you need is to gather the right tools. In this case can you view the CSV file that you will be reading from by opening it in Notepad so you know that it is intact? Do you know how to open/create a file? Do you know the various variable types available to you in C++? Do you know about the various options available forreading into strings using getline()? If the file you are reading has numerical fields and you wish to do calculations using the numerical values do you know how to convert strings into numerical values? Do you know how to write native types (and user defined types if needed) to the screen (which will basically be the same way you write them to file)?

If you know all of that, then you can write the program without any major problems. If not, learn a given concept in a smaller program first and then try to use that experience to do what is needed with that concept in your program.

I would suggest getting a compiler from this century, then reading up on ifstream.