After this code executes

ptr = new myStuff;
// some code ...
delete ptr;

the memory allocated is freed but ptr still contains the mem addr of the 1st byte of the previously allocated mem. Is there some history to this? Why didn't the C++ standard also have the delete operator reset ptr to NULL? Is there some clever coding which makes use of ptr still pointing to the freed mem?

Recommended Answers

All 46 Replies

Yeah, I think the clever code is called a runtime error. I'm no expert though.

Usually people that code in C++ don't want things done for them that they don't have control over. If you really want something that nulls and deletes a pointer, write it yourself.

As for a reason, this is a bit contrived but...what if you where writing an operating system that runs a thread to delete junk pointers (like the garbage collector in .NET). Now what if you wanted to keep a list of these pointers to send to a different thread at a certain interval to indicate memory that is now usable? I suppose you could create the list before the pointer is deleted, but then you are just taking up extra memory!

After deleting you could simply set your pointer manually to NULL:

int *ptr = new int;
delete ptr;
ptr = 0;

By the way, why should delete reset the pointer to NULL , C++ is a programmer's language and those programmers want to control every single aspect of the language, this brings with it that you'll have to do some things manually, but in this case, it's only one single line of code extra :) ...

>>Why didn't the C++ standard also have the delete operator reset ptr to NULL?
First of all you are simply **NO ONE** to ask question like this. C++ standards have been made by the most proficient and experienced programmers of this language. If you think there should be a feature added doesn't means it should be added. A boon to you may be disaster to others. C++ standards have to keeps everyone in mind.