Okay so, It's my first time on C++. They say you can use C++ to make games, so I want to learn about C++. (remember I'm a big newbie) So my question is, how does C++ work? Like if you put the C++ code in notepad, save it, open it, will it work? I bet it won't. Do you have to use a program or something? Like how does mozilla open in a new window... If you don't get what I'm saying, how do I make the code work?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Okay so, It's my first time on C++. They say you can use C++ to make games, so I want to learn about C++. (remember I'm a big newbie) So my question is, how does C++ work? Like if you put the C++ code in notepad, save it, open it, will it work? I bet it won't. Do you have to use a program or something? Like how does mozilla open in a new window... If you don't get what I'm saying, how do I make the code work?

Hi,
I don't know anything about making games, but in order to get C++ code to work you need a compiler. A great one, and FREE, is Microsoft Visual Studio Express. It lacks some features that come with the full versions, but I think it is a great start.

As a beginner, you should find some online tutorials on how to write C++. You also need a compiler, preferably with an IDE. I recommend Dev-C++ bloodshed for beginers, but you should definitely upgrade once you know how. The subject is simply to vast to be answered in one post.

Try this one. Otherwise just google it. I'm sure you'll come up with something.

Here is a little more in-depth answer.
>So my question is, how does C++ work? Like if you put the C++ code in notepad, save it, open it, will it work? I bet it won't.