Hi
I'm rather new to C++ and am rather confused about something.

I noticed, say, in an "if else" statement or a "Switch" statement it only evaluates numerical expressions. In an If Else statement I can compare two strings by using a returned boolean result from say 'strcmp' but I can't evaluate an espresions like if(variable1 == "Test") or the like. It seems to only take numerical values.

I'm thinking that this comes down to my fundamental understanding of C++. Is it the case that in all statements such as if and switch and anything else that evaluates and expression it will only evaluate numerical expressions or something that returns a numerical value and not a string comparrison? Do I always have to use something like 'strcmp' to evaluate whether a certain string has been input using cin >> ?

I've just started programming. The closest thing to programming I have used is VBA and I beleive this may be where I'm geting my misconception about how C++ works.

Thanks very much.

Danny2000 :-/

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You're not too far off.

With c-strings (strings terminated in '\0' as opposed to std::string which I'll get to in a minute) the variable is essentially a pointer, so saying

char * str1 = "Hello"; //a '\0' is automatically appended at the end of each of these
char * str2 = "Hello";

asking str1 == str2 will come up false every time because the pointers are not equal, they are stored in two different spots in memory. This same idea holds true for character arrays. Hence there's a need for a function like strcmp which does all the finagling for you.

On the other hand, std::strings, when you have

#include <string>
std::string mystr = "Hello";
std::string mystr2 = "Hello";

mystr == mystr2 will be true because the std::strings have an overloaded == operator (essentially a custom recipe specific to the class as to which components of the strings should be compared against each other).