Hi, I'm a beginner to C++ and am having some trouble with my list. I first define a struct named "bullet' like so:

struct bullet {
	bool alive;

bullet()
		alive = true;
};

Then, I create a list of objects of type "bullet": list<bullet> bullet_list; In my program, I frequently add new bullets to the list and delete them. At first, I was using a vector, but then I read that using a list was better for my uses because of how often I create/delete bullets from various positions in the list (I actually did this so frequently that I would get buffer overrun errors, which is why I'm now trying lists).

Anyways, when I was using a vector, I could use the following code to check if the bullet was still "alive":

for (int i=0; i < bullet_list.size(); i++) {
	bool isalive = bullet_list[i].alive;
	// do stuff

But now that I am using a list, I cannot. I get the following error: Error 1 error C2676: binary '[' : 'std::list<_Ty>' does not define this operator or a conversion to a type acceptable to the predefined operator What do I have to change in order to make this work?

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Try

for (list<bullet>::iterator i = bullet_list.begin(); i != bullet_list.end(); ++i) {
	bool isalive = i->alive;
	// do stuff

Edit: Lists dont got the [] operator because it would be very slow, so you have to work with iterators.

Wow, when I use that code you gave me, I get a whopping 104 errors! New record, baby. Well I guess I should post my real code, since I do quite a bit while iterating.
Code:

struct bullet {
	float x, y, z;
	float dx, dy, dz;
	int id;
	float traveledX, traveledY, traveledZ;
	bool alive;

bullet(int bulletID) {
		id = bulletID;
		traveledX = 0.0;
		traveledY = 0.0;
		traveledZ = 0.0;
		alive = true;
	}

void create() {
		// game code to create object
	}

bool move() {
		// code
		return alive;
	}

bool checkCollision(float oldX, float oldY, float oldZ) {
		// game code to check collision
		return collides;
	}
};