Hello there,

This is my first time posting on these forums. I was wondering if I could please get some help, there is a minor glitch in my code but I cannot figure it out. Basically, I have to create a class called XYPoint, and according to given criteria, have it calculate the distance between two points. I have a Main file, an XYPoint.cpp file, and an XYPoint.h file shown below.

Main

#include <iostream>
 #include "XYPoint.h"
 using namespace std;

int main()
{
	XYPoint First;
	float mypointx=0;
	float mypointy=0;
	float Answer=0;
	XYPoint ();
	XYPoint fixedpoint (-23.7, 37.5);
	cout<<"Enter point x:  "<<endl;
	cin>>mypointx;
	cout<<"Enter point y:  "<<endl;
	cin>>mypointy;
	cout<<"\n";
	XYPoint mypoint (mypointx, mypointy);
	Answer=mypoint.distance(fixedpoint);
	cout<<"\n";
	cout<<"Answer is:  "<<Answer<<"\n";
 	return 0;
 } // end function main

XYPoint.h

#ifndef XYPOINT_H
#define XYPOINT_H

class XYPoint
{
public:

XYPoint();
	XYPoint(float fixedpointx, float fixedpointy);
	void setmypoint(float newmypointx, float newmypointy);
	float distance(XYPoint p);
	void displayMessage();
	float mypointx;
	float mypointy;
	float pointpx;
	float pointpy;
	float mydistance;
};

#endif //

XYPoint.cpp

#include <iostream> 
 #include <math.h>
 #include "XYPoint.h"
 using namespace std;

XYPoint::XYPoint()
	{
		mypointx=0;
		mypointy=0;
	}

void XYPoint::setmypoint(float newmypointx, float newmypointy)
	{
		mypointx=newmypointx;
		mypointy=newmypointy;
	}

XYPoint::XYPoint(float fixedpointx, float fixedpointy)
	{
		pointpx=fixedpointx;
		pointpy=fixedpointy;
	}

float XYPoint::distance(XYPoint p)
	{
		XYPoint temp( 0, 0 );

temp.pointpx = p.pointpx;
	temp.pointpy = p.pointpy;
	mydistance=sqrt(pow(mypointx-pointpx,2)+pow(mypointy-pointpy,2));
	return mydistance;
	}