Hi!

For the past few months I've been self-learning C++ with the book "C++ Primer Plus" by Stephen Prata. After having gotten through chapter 7, I decided to check my progress by writing a little program, Baztro.

Baztro stands for Basic Astrology Tool. It asks you for birthdate(s) and will tell you what astrology sign you are, or how you get along with others, along with a simple menu system with a command-line user interface.

However, I did not create this to be a hardcore astrology software, but only to assess my coding progress. So, like the name has suggested, its astrology aspect is not very deep. The emphasis is on the code writing.

Because I'm new to the C++ scene, and I haven't been in any C++ class, I'd love to know if my coding practices are good and clear, whether the design is efficient, whether the code is easy to read. I'd love to know the opinions and critics from experienced coders. That's why I'm posting the code here, hoping others will give their voices and, heh, 'grade' me!

So, if you are interested, I've attached the source .cpp (I have yet to have a good grasp at multi-file source files, and after a few unsuccessful attempts I decided that I'll leave it as it is, one single .cpp. I try to make it as easy to read as possible ^^").
I've also packaged the files into archives (just to get a feel of distributing releases xD) and uploaded them into MediaFire, at http://preview.tinyurl.com/baztro. The Baztro_vx.x.x.x_publicXXXX.7z archives contain the binary, the source code, and the development log. The Baztro_v1.0_publicReleaseWithSRCs.7z archive contains all the above, along with the VC++ project folder. I would also like to know if the archives' structures are good enough and easy to understand, if anyone is willing =)

So, if you are interested (and are still reading lol), grade me!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Now i am curious about few things.
1. why astrology? (casual question, no need for answer)
2. why not "using namespace std;"