Member Avatar for ragnarok511

I am currently a C# developer with about a year of experience. I am currently working on finishing my computer science degree with a minor in mathematics.

I love the job that I am in, but I the things I really want to do are in C++ (i.e. game development, firmware, scientific development, working for a software company).

How hard is it for a C# or Java programmer to transition to C++ development? Also, I was wondering what would make me a good candidate for a game development or a job in embedded firmware development?

BTW, I have taken a few classes in C++, so I do have a pretty good grasp of the C++ syntax.

Thanks in Advance,
Brian Wimpsett

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I believe that to know how to program in any language you just need a few days but to get a hold on it it takes a life time. The only difference in Java/C# and C++ that I find is in C++ you got to do many things on your own which Java and C# have inbuilt functions for,but in C++ you can play around with pointers and also screw up the entire project due to their misuse both of which are fun :) Don't think much just go for it and enjoy the essence of programming. :)

Your question is impossible to answer. How am I suppose to give a value to how difficult it will be for you?
All I know, from my own experience, is that for me it is easiest to learn a language by just starting to write a project in it. This doesn't need to be a useful program, the important thing is to start writing code, and to start shooting yourself in the foot so that you learn what not to do.

Also, print out a copy of the standard (or keep a PDF if you don't want to print ~700 pages double sided) and try to look for things in there when you're stuck, it will teach you 'how' to read the standard, and give valuable insight.