Alright. I am (attempting) to use this http://sites.google.com/site/rcorcs/download/systemsoftware simple database library in VC++ 2008 Express. I admit that I am a newbie to C++, since Ive used only "light" programming languages like python, php, java.

To use it I have the header files, and as "lib" folder I have a dll and a ".a" file. In a project before I used a .dll and a .makefile file to create a .lib, but this time I dont know what to do anymore. I have found out that the ".a" in linux is the equivalent of a ".lib" in windows, but I have not found any way to use it in VC++.

Could somebody please tell me what to do in order to be able to use this library(In VC++ 2008 ofc)?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

If it's not a library that was built for Windows, you won't be able to use it.

libraries with *.a extension were produced with GNU compiler, such as g++ on *nix and MinGW on MS-Windows. They are not usable with Microsoft compilers.

Ok. Thank you, I will try to build it on my own then.

Depending on the way that the DLL was compiled, it might be possible for you to use it from a VS2008 project.

The easiest solution, of course, is to contact the issuer of the library in question and ask for a VisualC++ import library (or the source code so that you can recompile the DLL yourself). If they don't want to bother providing that, then, besides cursing at them or considering finding another library with similar capabilities, you can read further.

First of all, the dll was compiled with MinGW (almost certainly). The .dll file contains the actual code and the .a file is called an "import library" (and the "a" stands for "archive" which is GNU jargon for "static library").