When I was a student, I believe that most of the software programmers of every software companies must be
very talented, brilliant, skillful and much more experience than me, at least before I got my first job,
I really believe that every software companies could let me learn a lot.But now, when I look at the source
codes of our company, I really believe that there are some(or a lot of) programmers don't even have the
abilities to write a simple fizzbuzz program.

This post would introduce some horrible errors and many less efficient codes of our companies,
I post this because I feel frustrated and agony since our codes are flooded by the "weird codes" I list.
And I would like to know that--am I asking too much on the abilities of the programmers?Are those weird codes pretty
popular between c++ programmers?To tell you the truth, most of our directors don't
think these kind of codes are weird, not only that, they keen to produce them.

I only have one and half year experience on C++(including 4 months of working
experience).

Maybe they are not that bad, if I give any wrong comments on those codes, please correct me, thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

I only post some of the weird codes(please correct me if they are not
weird) for now.

Weird codes 0 : pass std::string by value instead of pass by reference without any reason

void kkk(std::string data)
{
//blah blah blah
}

void weird_func()
{
  std::string weird = "idiot";
  kkk(weird);
}

Meaningless and expensive, it is acceptable if they want to construct the data directly like this
(rvalue reference may give us another choice)

void meaning_func()
{
  kkk("hehe");
}

Weird codes 1 : Don't use boost::any + typeid + any_cast + if...else to instead static binding when static binding could solve the problems.

void kkk(boost::any& data)
{
  if (data.type() == type(weird)) 
  {   
    //call any_cast blah blah blah
  }  
  else if (data.type() == type(very_weird))
  {   
    //call any_cast blah blah blah