I am a beginner, and want to know how can run the code in notepad with visual studio. I tried with a simple code by --<<All Program -->microsoft Visual --> visual Studio tools --> visual Studio command prompmt.
The error is: ''fatal error C1083: cannot open source file: filename.cpp: No such file or director''
Can you help me?

Recommended Answers

All 31 Replies

Are you trying to wite a program with Notepad then compile it with VS iDE? The easiest was is not to use Notepad, but to do all your work is VS iDE. Here are a few articles to get you strted.

I'm not sure why you would be using notepad. The IDE as Ancient Dragon mentioned would be the easiest.

If you wanted to use your own text editor, one option would be to make a project in VS, and use VS to manage the files as well as the compiltion, and use your own text editor as an accessory. Visual Studio also has a built in feature to allow external editors.

You could also compile your code from the command line user the VS compiler. Just add the VS compiler you wish to use (there are different compilers for different platofrms) to the path, and use vcvars32 to set up the environment, and use CL to compile your program. You can also use MSBuild and nmake.

I agree with @Hiroshe
Visual Studio is a best enviroment for learning
use of its facilities
for ex:
VS->file -> new -> project ->Win32 Console Application (enter name of your Project) -> (welcom windows) next -> (application setting) select Empty Project and click on finish button...
in your project:
solution explorer -> source file ->right click-> add -> new ...
and enjoy

Thanks for your information.
I try the visual environemnt when I am writing the new code, but I want to open one existing code, it includes some notepad files containing .cpp and .h, and I dont know how I can open and run it!