Hello, I'm a new programmer and wanted to create a simple windows application. I might be getting in a little over my head when writing the code below. All seems well when compiling the code without implementing classes. When I implemented the class AppEngine from a separate source file I had these errors that I could not resolve. I came to two conclusions of what I was doing wrong and was hoping that someone could point me in the right direction.

Conclusion 1 - I incorrectly included the source files during compile
Conclusion 2 - I was in over my head and should not attempt windows programming just yet.

The errors I'm receiving are:
Line 12 : new types may not be defined in a return type
Line 4 : requires init-declaration before LRESULT WindowProcedure

I use DEV C++ IDE and these the codes that gets the error.

1 #include <windows.h>
2 #include "DCPPPClasses.h"
4 LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProcedure (HWND hwnd, UINT 5 message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam);
7 AppEngine *_pAE;
9 _pAE = new AppEngine(HINSTANCE, LPSTR, LPSTR, WORD, 10 WORD, int, int);
12 int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hinstance, HINSTANCE hprevi, 13 LPSTR szcmdline, int icmdshow)
14 {
15 }

I would like to know what those error means and how to fix them. Thanks in advance. Sadaka

If poking it with a stick doesn't work for you. Try poking it with a bigger one.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

how bout using a better api? qt or gtk are much easier.

commented: answer the question. There is nothing wrong with the WinAPI. -2

line 4: LRESULT CALLBACK WindowProcedure (HWND hwnd, UINT 5 message, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam);
line 9: _pAE = new AppEngine(HINSTANCE, LPSTR, LPSTR, WORD, 10 WORD, int, int);

these are the errors. the compiler/ide you are using seems to emit very poor error messages.

also line 12: int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hinstance, HINSTANCE hprevi, 13 LPSTR szcmdline, int icmdshow)