Hi,

I am new to programming and I am struggling with an sql select statement. I would really appreciate any help anyone can offer me!

What I am trying to do is populate a textbox (using code and without creating a dataset) with data retrieved from an sql database.

I have used the following code, but don't seem to be coming right:

String conn_String =
                "server=localhost;database=contacts_db;uid=sa;pwd=sqlsecret";

SqlConnection mySqlconn =
                new SqlConnection(conn_String);

mySqlconn.Open();

String mySel_string =
                "SELECT firstName FROM contacts_tbl WHERE firstName = @fName";
            SqlCommand mySqlcmd =
                new SqlCommand(mySel_string, mySqlconn);

SqlParameter myfNameParam =
                mySqlcmd.Parameters.Add("@fName", SqlDbType.NVarChar,50);
            myfNameParam.Value = textBox1.Text;

mySqlcmd.ExecuteNonQuery();

I would really appreciate any help!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hi there timk25 and welcome to DaniWeb!. First try changing the connection statement from:

String conn_String =

To

String conn_String = "Data Source=localhost;Initial Catalog=contacts_db;User Id=sa;Password=sqlsecret;";

Then tell me what happens....hope that helps :)

here wat info u want to populate into the textbox.. and when do u want to populate the text box on page load or on some event click.

any error appear??

Hi There,

Thanks for your replies. I have tryed changing the connection string, but still no luck.

I would like to populate the text box on the click event of the button "button_addNew_Click"

My database that I created only has 1 table "contacts_tbl" with 3 columns "contactID, firstName, lastName"

The only column that I would like to populate to the textbox for now is firstName
The type of data I want to populate is text

When I run the program and click on the button nothing seems to happen and no error's

I appreciate your help guys. Is there anything else you can suggest?

Thanks