I am not sure what I am doing wrong, but I am starting to feel very stupid. I am fairly new to C# so be gentle :) .

I have an If Statement that is not working and I am not sure why. Here is my code

if ("Admin" == user)
    btnAdmin.Enabled = true;
else
    btnAdmin.Enabled = false;

For some reason it is always coming back false, no matter what. I need the button to only be active if the user name is Admin.

As a side note, I know this is not very secure, but I just need to get this done and will make it more secure later.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

QUESTIONS:
1) Where/when are you executing this code?
2) Where/how are you setting the value of the string "user"?
3) Can you include the whole code text?

commented: Good questions. +10

Yeah, here is the rest of the code block.

public partial class Main : Form
    {
        private string user;
        public string User
        {
            get
            {
                return user;
            }
            set
            {
                user = value;
            }
        }
        public Main()
        {
            InitializeComponent();

String admin = "Admin";

if ("Admin" == user)

btnAdmin.Enabled = true;

else

}

The user variable is being pulled from the Login form in the form of a textbox.

I think the other question is answered in the code block.

Thanks.

My guess is you are never actually setting the variable "user" or User property. Where is the code that assigns the TextBox value? e.g.

User = textBox1.Text;

Also, you probably want to rewrite your if statement to be:

if (User == admin)

instead of using the literal "Admin", since you already assigned it to variable 'admin', which is never used in this example.

zip the entire solution and attach it to the post so we can correct and post back

My guess is you are never actually setting the variable "user" or User property. Where is the code that assigns the TextBox value? e.g.

User = textBox1.Text;