Hi! I'm new to the site! I've been searching for help on Google for a while and keep getting results that point to this site, so I figured I should jump on.

I'm new to C#. I've been programming in VBA in MS Access for a while now and have a solution that is running effectively where I work. (had to brag about that for a second :) ) But I just started with C# though. VBA is okay, but it is (to me) a little limiting.

I've decided as my first learning tutorial to teach myself how to create a custom file type, store user settings and data in it and then retrieve it later. The first problem I have run into is how to correctly save data and retrieve it.

I have a form that I created thus far, on that form is a menu bar and a text box. I have successfully exported (in binary) the data typed into the box, and then successfully retrieved it. My question is...what if I have two text boxes? What about 30?

I'd love to get some help and some suggestions on this. Code is nice if you feel up to it, but remember VB is my only real experience so comment any code up so I know what's going on...I'm not big on "ohhh! code! [copy/paste]" I like to know what every line does and why. I'll probably be learning C# for years because of that though.

Anyway, I'll dig up my code and paste it for you guys but it might take a while...I'm at work right now and my source code is at home.

I guess the summary of all this is....if I want to create a file that holds all settings, all data and any future data...is serialization the way to go? If your familiar with Intuit's Quickbooks...think of the "company file." I need something that can save info, but can't be easily compromised by someone opening a binary file in notepad and retrieving a username or password.

ddanbe commented: Nice question! +5

Recommended Answers

All 55 Replies

Have a look at using XML files for settings and the like.