I have property method in my window forms:

public int  selectMonthIndex
    {
        get { return selectMonthIndex = =monthSelection.SelectedIndex; }
        set 
        {  
            if (monthSelection.SelectedValue.ToString() == "February")
            {
                selectMonthIndex = 2;
            }
        }
     }

After the selections and the OnSelectedIndexChange was triggered the user enters information and click save. the save function is suppose to check for the selected item or index in order to pick the right DB to save to but the index or item is always null.
Please how do I fix this ?

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Hey im a newbie too. I'm not seeing enough info on what your doing. Did you create a savefiledialog? Also, I see that the above code basically says if the user selects a month and it is equal to february, it will return 2. Your above code will throw an error because of the space between the =.

Actually, this is the issue. I have a comboBox in my windows forms. the user select a month and enter the data for that month and click the save button. the comboBox current index determines where the data is saved.
However, when the save button is click and I try to get the combo.selectedIndex using a property:

{
            get { return selectMonthIndex = monthSelection.SelectedIndex; }
            set { selectMonthIndex = value; }
        }

it returns (-1). How do I get the current index?

Look man I'm a beginnger, but i think your problem lies within line 4 inside the {}. I don't know the right answer but I think you need to reference the SelectedIndex in line 4 as well.

Hey try to select another month than Feb. and tell me the value it gives you. I might have a theory as to why you are getting -1.

I did and the value was still -1

Ok well my theory was wrong then... shoot!
I'm thinking the in line four you need a ToString() statement that references the SelectedIndex.

wait I think you need
4. set { SelectedIndex = value; }