Hi,

I'm pretty new to C# but I'm very familiar with C++ and first off I wanted to know if anyone has a good website with some tutorials for C#.

Other than that, I have a few basic questions regarding GUI programming.

I suppose one question at a time is good enough so I want to have 5 drop down boxes (I'm assuming that a combo box is what I should use) and each of these boxes will pull from the same list (and array of strings I'm also assuming). When one item from the list is selected in one box, it will not be available for selection in another, and you cannot input text into the field.

Visual Studio 2010 has a good WYSIWYG designer for this but it still isn't perfectly clear on how to tie all of the boxes to the same list and put conditions on the selections.

Any advice would be great.
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hmmm, first of all msdn.com (or what ever the ending it), they moreexplain methods, and calls and such more indepth, giving you examples, and some pages list all the members of a call (or such). I just learned C# last year, and use VS2010 for my GUIs and have become extremely good.

As for you second question you mind explain it more in detail for me? or even better pictures, like screenshots and such, I can do well when I see images

Thanks for responses.

Okay, I'll just explain the following picture. It is a rough outline of where I want to go but it should get my point across rather simply.

The 5 larger selection boxes will be drop downs and all 5 will feed off the same list. Furthermore, if "Cheeseburger" is selected in the first box, then it cannot be selected in any of the other four boxes. Then, from the smaller boxes on the right I should be able to select a specific quantity of whatever was selected on the left.

Finally, hit calculate and it takes all of the box selections and calculates some fantastic number and produces it in the box at the bottom left.