down vote
favorite I am a programmer for winforms and asp.net. A new-comer to WPF application development.

I wish to thank in advance for any help rendered to my query,

I am working on a application for Banking. My job profile is to develop reusable usercontrols for the application.

An example would be to make a Simple numeric input box which has Max and Min number properties. So the control pops an error if the number entered is not within a range. (ofcourse there is much more to this control :-)

On similar lines. I have to develop a listview user control with Two properties.

1. A comma separated values of column headers
  2. A comma separated values of data to add

My colleague, now places this usercontrol on window (as known in WPF). and passes the above parameters to the listview control.

My coding ensures that the columns are placed and data is added. In winforms this is a simple process. In WPF i was able to achieve it for known columns by defining beforehand in observablecollection or otherwise using

SamplelistView.Items.Add(new { FirstName = "test1", LastName = "ABX", EmployeeNumber = "AAA111"});

However in the above mentioned command, Firstname,Lastname are previously known columns.

Is there any command like,adding data as a array or adding data directly to columns without binding to a collection. OR is there a way to add columns to observablecollections at runtime.

Pls. excuse my limited exposure on nomenclature and otherwise.

For your first question, there are a few methods. If you are not using binding, then you could handle the TextChanged event, although this can be quite messy. If, however, you are using binding, you can perform validation in two possible locations: at the source or at the target. The target being your control.

In order to validate from the target, you would first have to create a custom validation rule by deriving from the ValidationRule class, for example:

public class RangeValidation : ValidationRule
{