C# Interview tomorrow

Hello fellow programmers.

I know this doesn't have anything to do with code but I really need some advice. I have a .NET(C#) interview tomorrow for a junior vacancy. The problem I have is that all my experience is based on PHP. I have a good understanding of the fundamentals of OOP which is why I am looking to make the switch to C#. I have worked on my own at home, gone through a few books but I have nothing to show in terms of .NET projects. All my experience is in PHP. I have been working with PHP for 6 months but I have decided to make the switch now rather than later because I enjoy working with C# although I still have a lot to learn. I also feel like it offers better career prospects. How would you approach the interview if you were in my position?

Please help me.

Regards

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I would foucs on two skills on your interview: quick learning and passion. You need to show and proove how good quick learner you are. Prepare 2-3 proven situation from the past how you adopted to the new changes. I would also focus on passion to programming in c#. Sell your passion and energy !!!

Well, I know this is a little late, just like your request for help ;) but here's a couple of things you can do in future (if you don't get the position)

1. Prepare a portfolio of applications. Not only does this show you know the language, but you also have demonstrable evidence of it and shows that you program outside of the office and shows your dedication to programming.

2. Make sure you know a lot about what the company does and their history. Research their flagship product or service and prepare a couple of programs that operate in the same vain. i.e. If you are going for an accounting software position, demostrate a program or website that handles a little bit of accounting (like a budget tracker)