I am new to c# .I am having trouble to add a datagridview in the below code. can someone tell me how to do it? thanks

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Data.SqlServerCe;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace _35c
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();

}

private void button2_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {

}

private static int getTotal(string connectionString)
        {
            int total = 0;

using (var connection = new SqlCeConnection("Data Source=|DataDirectory|Northwind.sdf;Password=**"))
            {
                connection.Open();

var command = new SqlCeCommand("SELECT TABLE_NAME FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.COLUMNS WHERE COLUMN_NAME = 'Total';"
                    , connection);

foreach (var table in from IDataRecord row in command.ExecuteReader()
                                      select new { name = row.GetValue(row.GetOrdinal("TABLE_NAME")) }
                    )
                {
                    command.CommandText = String.Format("SELECT SUM(Total) AS Total FROM {0}", table.name);  
                    var tableTotal = command.ExecuteScalar();
                    total = total + (tableTotal == DBNull.Value ? 0 : (int)command.ExecuteScalar()); 
                }
                connection.Close();
            }
            return total;

}

}
} 

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi

What data are you trying to show in a DataGridView. Your code only shows how you are getting a Total from a table?

I have tables with similer structure and column name in database. when i run the code it does not give me any error.

table1

col1 | total
-----|-------
A       | 10
B       | 20

table2
col1 | total
-----|-------
C       | 15
D       | 10

I am trying to get the following output 
table name | Total 
---------- |-------