i am new to c# i have been working on controlling a io card
i have no issue writing to turn on / toggle / or get status

turn on bits |= 1 << bit;
toggle bits ^= 1 << bit;

but i cannot get the item pin to turn off i do not want to use toggle because i want it
to either be on or off

now when i turn off the pin basicly unset the pins i always get a error about it setting a negative number to a ushort
any help would be greatly appreciated

bits &= ~(1 << bit);

`
//=============================================================
//program.cs these are my calls from the main program
//============================================================

if (whatTheUserTyped == "on")
                {

Console.WriteLine(Control.PinOn(2,3,4,5,6));

}

if (whatTheUserTyped == "off")
                {

Console.WriteLine(Control.PinOff(4));
                }
//==========================================================                
// control.cs 
//==========================================================    

public string PinOn(int pin1)
        {
bits |= Convert.ToUInt16(1 << pin1);

return "pin on";

}

public string PinOff(int pin1)
        {

bits &= ~(1 << 3);
WriteToCard();

return "pin off";
       }        
`

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

There's usually more than that. That is, not only do you set the port value as you noted but if the pin is input, output, etc. Code alone isn't enough here.

a bits is a numerics single value, either 1 or 0 that encodes a single unit of digital information. A byte is a sequence of bits; usually eight bits equal one byte.

Few things here i cant seem to understand in ur code:
-your pinon method takes only 1 argument of type int, but u seem to be passing 5 integer values.
- pinoff method takes a argument and being used at all.

It will be helpful if you could give a intro on ur io card and what exactly u are trying to achieve when u set and unset each bit.