Does anyone know a place where I can get a copy of Maya 4.0? I've already checked the standard venues, such as Ebay and Google. I have a plugin for a game editor (DEdit) that only works with this version of Maya. I'm doing level design in DEdit and trying to take it a step further with Maya.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

from the manufacturer website you can no doubt purchase Maya.
If Maya 4 no longer is sold, the manufacturer of that editor plugin will have made a version for a current version of Maya.
We're not going to help you to pirated software.

If only it was that easy. The game is no longer in production. Because of this, the plugin is no longer upgraded. So, does anyone know of a current source or have a used copy?

And by the way... I don't wish to steal or pirate it. I desire a legal copy.

Legal copies can't be downloaded, so you can't be looking for a legal copy...

indeed. Any talk of piracy will lead to infraction

As an Systems Engineer, I often download software from either the publisher or a retailer. The rest is purchased off the shelf. There is such a thing as legitimate downloading. You pay and then download. In this case, I need a link to a retailer who sells Maya 4 or contact info for a person who has an old retail version for sale. The publisher no longer sells the software.

I'm sorry if you've had bad experiences with people requesting links to pirated software. I understand the feeling. I regularly work with teens and occasionally have to get on their case about stealing music. Ethically, you and I both abhor illegitimate downloads.

Again, I'm requesting a link to a retailer that sells old software. Ebay tends to be lacking in Maya 4 these days.

thats fine then