Hello,

i am fairly new to coding and i am just wondering what is required to make a Engine for a MMO RTS game. where would i start. keeping in mind server must we vary stable and not have problems with de-sinking.

i am not attempting this on my own i just want to have a better understand of what recourse's i need and the steps required

thank you all vary much for any info and incite you could give.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Wow... where do I even start?

The first thing you've got to understand is that anything that starts with "MMO" is going to be a real challenge. I would never say "impossible", because if that were the case, no one would have done it, but "challenge" is probably an understatement.

Being "very stable and not have problems de-syncing" aside, writing an engine from scratch involves a large number of computing disciplines all working in unison. You've got to know about multithreaded software development, database (or file) structure, network architecture, network communications, just to name a few. You development team is going to have to be very, very organized.

I'm working on an MMORPG right now with my brothers. We're about two years into our development, and don't have a beta yet. We've made real progress, but it's slow-going when it's your hobby.

Anyway, the server architecture breaks down like this: we've got four distinct server systems (so far): the database server, the authentication server/controller, the zone server, and the communications server. These are written so that they can all be run on the same machine (for testing), or distributed over any number of different physical or virtual machines. They're all written in C++ and run on Fedora Redhat Linux.

I don't know if I answered your question, but I will watch this thread and if you have any more specific questions, I would be happy to answer them. Good luck!