Hi All,
I'm developing some simple C++ windows forms application games using visual studio.net 2008, and am looking for some ways to distribute the game to paying customers. I'm starting with Intel's appup distribution, but that's only just starting to take off. Any suggestions?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

don't bother. Noone's going to buy them.

lol. That's not the answer I was expecting :) Did you know that the plants vs zombies game made over a million dollars so far on the Apple apps store? Intel Appup is getting ready to bring a similar distribution out for netbooks, laptops, and windows based smartphones, and I'm hoping to get my games distributed on that. I'm not as interested in the money as getting my games out there for people to play. I'm also a fairly new developer, so I'm not going to be able to bring out anything as cool as plants vs zombies. Is appup my only choice? I have paid a little for shareware over the years downloaded from sites like download.com and two cows, but I'm looking for something more like Apple's distribution model.

you have 3 problems, not 1 (or maybe more than 3).
1) you have no experience writing software
2) you have no distribution channel
3) you have no marketing tools
4) you're ignoring the fact that the vast majority of people are going to just pirate it

Until you rectify 1) there's no need to look into any of the others.
Apple's distribution model is way too ambitious for you, the only practical way for it to work would be for you to contract them to distribute for you (which is what most people do who develop for iPhone).
They do however have a strict vetting program to ensure that only things they like (quality, content, etc) get into their store.
Unless you're a more experienced developer you're unlikely to get your software approved for sale through their channels.
I assume other resellers have similar programs (though likely with other requirements of course).