Well, right now i'm following a tutorial on game making for c++, but is this really the best programming language for video games?

Also i'd like to know if can recommend me a book ( i've seen some book on amazon but i don't really know wich one to choose ), or tutorial about this, cause since i'm just 15, there's no teacher ( yet ) to talk with about this kind of things ( Consider that i'm a really noob sooo... )

Well thanks and thats all

Recommended Answers

All 38 Replies

C++ is definitely one of the top languages. It doesn't really matter what language you use, as long as you are good at it, and you can use it to create cross-platform games, if you want to distribute them or go commercial. From reading around, it seems that C# is the most frequently used these days, though you can be different.
Sorry but I can't really recommend you a book!

For starters, gamedev.net is one of the best game development sites on the net. Lots of good tutorials and help there.

C++ is extremely widely used in game development for professional games for both PC and console. C# is also good, but its main benefit is the XNA framework which is Win/XBox only. There's also Java, Flash and Python which have some good game related frameworks. My personal favorite dev language is C++, because that's my first language and holds a special place in my heart. It's also damn powerful.

There is no such thing as best language for game dev. Each language has its own shortcomings and good points. You need to pick a language that you are familiar with and stick with it.

It also depends on the type of game you want to make. For instance, if you are interested in making an online game, then C++ would not be useful.

You could also look out for game making software like GameMaker, Construct, Unity, etc. that will help you make games with limited knowledge of programming.

It depends on many factors, but I can recommend you some pieces of software and some pieces of advanced software: