I'm quite new to Game Programming.
I'm currently learning C++ at its deepest... ;)
And, it seems that there are just too many options available to get into the industry.
From searching and digging in this very forum and other resources, it seems that C++ is the best suited language for Game Programming.

So, I wanna know which language to choose. Also, I wouldn't like to change the the language afterwards... But, i would if I have to. After all, who am I to decide what players and the industry needs!

And, I believe that one must use some or other type of library to make Games -- Engine, AI, etc.
So, which library to choose?

In fact, I'm Bio student and strongly want to change the field. As, I'm much more - far more - interested in Programming.

Please help....

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

C++ is one of the more widely used languages for developing games rules and keeping track of variables setting up collision detection etc.

DirectX librarys or openGl, openAl and openCl can then be used to render items to screen, load sound files and allow for parallel processing to increase speed.

I would personally say openGl and C++ with websites such as http://nehe.gamedev.net/ for some good tutorials showing how to set up screens, and do basic drawing to begin with.

The reason I say openGl is that it runs on mac, Linux or windows and is more open source with a lot of libraries and tutorials.

C++ and OpenGL.

And, also, as I said I'm a Biology student. For specificity, I'm in B.Sc. Bioinformatics.
So, I don't have much knowledge of mathematics. So, some guidance on that is also required.
Which type of mathematics skills will be required?
Any starter book recommendations for Game Development other than "Beginning C++ game programing"? As everything it covers is C++... No graphics and stuff.

And, also, as I said I'm a Biology student. For specificity, I'm in B.Sc. Bioinformatics.