hey guys, i just registered here because i need a forums where i can come back to in case i need help developing my game. this site seems pretty good.
well i get right to it now. i plan to make a mmorpg browser text based game with some 2d graphics. it should be easy because it will probably just have alot of "if this", "the do this" scripting since its text based, but i wanna hear it from more experienced people, which program should i use for making this game? im not experienced in java, flash, openGL, python.. nothing really, im gunna start looking into it now however and ill come back to this forums if i have other questions i cant find the answers to on my own. i just wanna know on which direction i should be heading.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

the only scripting ive used really is batch scripting, its soo simple but because of it i understand the concept of "if this", "then do this" type of scripting. hahah im a game developing noob ^-^ i'd appreciate some help. sorry im such a noob

Welcome to the forums MrCbrl95,

Firstly I should give a bit about myself. I did begin designing a web based game although I am now focusing on Web Development as a whole.
I know I probably shouldn't do this but 'www.makewebgames.com' is another useful forum (to use as well as this one :D).

The first thing you should make sure you know how to do is HTML, CSS, PHP and MySQL. These shall be invaluable when making your game. As it is most likely a Persistent Browser Based Game? You are going to want to make sure you know how to connect to your databases.

I made my game entirely in PHP which did give it a slightly slow feel but you can still do a fair number of complex things including movement (Coordinate based) and you can easily make things like inventories.

Good luck, sorry I couldn't be of more help but I thought I would start the ball rolling!