hello dear members, i am a student of bachelors degree in computer science and finally i have to choose and develop a project as my final project. i am planning to replicate a game, like jetpack joyride (as i am seeking a career in game programming). i think i have three options.
1) learn vc++ (i have good c++ skills though) directx api and develop the game using it.
2) use c# and sharpdx to develop the game (will have to learn sharpdx).
3) use a game engine like udk or unity and develop the game using it (will have to learn the engine and its language)

i personally wanna go with the first option, but i just want to have expert's advice here, which one will be better on my resume? and which one will be the proper direction for a game programming career?
thanks in advance :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Don't no much about game programming, but if I would try to make one I would have a look at xna
Hope it helps a bit.

I would personally go with unity as it much simpler and the engine is very simple to learn and have lots of great features and tools to make development faster. Unity can now package your game to android and ios for free. Unity engine support java script and c# as scripting language. Since you have good c++ skills developing your game in c# with unity should be a breeze. Hope this help.

@eltonpiko: it did help for sure, and im thankful for that, but will unity be a good choice for career aswell? i mean if i go with unity, and leave directx or opengl, will i still be safe in a game programming career?

Well career wise it depends on where you want work. As not all firm use the same engine, but most will have a favorite or preferred engine to speed up development process, (Most big firm use commercial engines which you might not get a chance to use till you work there) .