i am new to java networking. my client program is giving an error
"Couldn't get I/O for the connection to:192.168.1.2" in the below program.will u please help me.and 192.168.1.2 this is my local machine.

code:

import java.io.*;
import java.net.*;

public class client1 {
public static void main(String[] args) throws IOException {

Socket echoSocket = null;
PrintWriter out = null;
BufferedReader in = null;

try {
echoSocket = new Socket("192.168.1.2", 32133);
out = new PrintWriter(echoSocket.getOutputStream(), true);
in = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(
echoSocket.getInputStream()));
} catch (UnknownHostException e) {
System.err.println("Don't know about host: taranis.");
System.exit(1);
}catch (IOException e) {
System.err.println("Couldn't get I/O for "
+ "the connection to:192.168.1.2");
System.exit(1);
}

BufferedReader stdIn = new BufferedReader(
new InputStreamReader(System.in));
String userInput;

while ((userInput = stdIn.readLine()) != null) {
out.println(userInput);
System.out.println("echo: " + in.readLine());
}

out.close();
in.close();
stdIn.close();
echoSocket.close();
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

It prints that message because it is catching an exception and that is what you are telling it to print. Add a stacktrace to that catch block and try again, so that you at least know what is going wrong.

yes i have printed stack trace . stack trace due to IOException is
"java.net.ConnectException:Connection refused:connect".what might be reasons for this connection reject and how could i get rid of this error.

If you see the javadocs for ConnectException class, it tells you that this could be typically due to the fact that no process is listening on the port. Make sure the port number that you are using (32133) is being listened by some process.