I am new to GUI Java programming and I am attempting to find the best way of creating a frame to contain a series of menus. I am first adding logic to have the date and time appear in the frame, but the way I am doing it they are both showing up on the same line and I can't seem to find any sources on how to get these and additional text to appear on separate lines. I will include my source to have someone look at it or tear it apart. May I ask that some one please point me in the right direction to a source to this type of programming or offer me some advice on a better method of doing this simple task?

import javax.swing.*;
import java.awt.*;
import java.io.*;
import java.util.*;

public class InitialFrame1 extends JFrame
{
	public InitialFrame1()
	{
	setSize(800, 625);
	setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);
	Container pane = getContentPane();
	FlowLayout flo = new FlowLayout();
	pane.setLayout(flo);
	InitialPanel Date = new InitialPanel();
	pane.add(Date); 
        setContentPane(Date);
	InitialPanel Time = new InitialPanel();
	pane.add(Time);
	setContentPane(Time);
	setVisible(true);
        } 

public static void main (String[] arguments)
{
	InitialFrame1 a1 = new InitialFrame1();
}

public class InitialPanel extends JPanel 
{ 
	public InitialPanel() 
	{ 
         String Current_Date = getDate();
	 JLabel Date = new JLabel(Current_Date);
	 Date.setForeground(Color.blue); 
	 add(Date); 
         String Current_Time = getTime();
	 JLabel Time = new JLabel(Current_Time);
	 Time.setForeground(Color.blue); 
	 add(Time); 

}  

String getDate()
{ 
String Date; 
 // get current Date 
    Calendar now = Calendar.getInstance(); 
    int month = now.get(Calendar.MONTH) + 1; 
    int day = now.get(Calendar.DAY_OF_MONTH); 
    int year = now.get(Calendar.YEAR); 

Date = month + "/" + day + "/" + year;
    return Date;	
}

String getTime()
{ 
String Time; 
 // get current Time 
    int hour = now.get(Calendar.HOUR_OF_DAY);