Dear friends ,
I am new to java . I created an JFrame(Calculator) application in Netbeans.Now i want to run that file from console(putty) since i gonna use that .java class in some other program through which i want invoke this . How do i do this . When i try to run the java file directly it throws
"Bad file descriptor" error . Can any one help me

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Sorry but you could not run the .java file. you should build the jar file from netBeans IDE and look to the out put. after building the jar the ouput will show you the command line to use.

You can also use the commande line to build the jar file if you want.

other solution for running a single file is to use the javac commande line to create a binary file with ".class" extension and then use java commande line witn the .class as argument.

Hope it helps.

Hello its possible to run when you create a java file in netBeans it creates a folder of that file. you will see a scr folder click on that inside u will see java folder where u can see your java file.so just open ur console give the path example "D:\data\src\java\yourjavafile.java" and you can run your java file.

In command prompt, point to the folder in which your java file exists. Now

c:\yourfolder> javac filename.java
c:\yourfolder> java filename

commented: a nut +0

r u a nut chirag.
have u ever used netbeans? i dont think so .

you r totally wrong.

Not sure wht's going on here, but DeadSoul's post (the first one, not the insult) is incomplete. His instrctions give you the .java file, but you need a .class or a .jar to run the program (just like chirag said).

r u a nut chirag.
have u ever used netbeans? i dont think so .

you r totally wrong.

No he is not wrong. He is absolutely right.
You cannot run a java file. When you click the run button at the NetBeans (something that anybody can do), Netbeans creates a jar file with all the classes of the projects and it runs the jar files.
Practically it runs the .class file.