Hey all I am currently a java beginner and I would like to ask how would I return control to my main if ever I encounter an exception created by me?

For example:

public void checkIn(int roomNumber, String occupantName, int day)
            throws ExceptionHandler {
        int checkValue = this.employingHotel.checkIn(roomNumber, occupantName, day);

switch (checkValue) {
            case -5:
                throw new ExceptionHandler ("Inexistent Room for Check In");
            case -6:
                throw new ExceptionHandler ("Occupant Already Exists");
            default:
                break;
        }
    }

This code here returns an exception whenever an error is found within the underlying classes of this method's owner. So when I run my program I see in the output that after it displays an exception it does not run the other parts of the code in my main, which is what I didn't want to happen.

I've still got a little bit of processing down my main and I would like to perform those processes along with printing of other details from them.

So how do I return control back to my main whilst recognizing this error?

And lastly, based on something I googled earlier, I created this exception handling class.

public class ExceptionHandler extends Exception {

public ExceptionHandler(String message) {
        super(message);
    }

}

This is supposed to handle all the errors in my package, but I feel a bit uneasy about this class because, I think exceptionhandler codes are not this simple? I mean are they just simply for outputting error messages? or am I grasping the requirement of "create an exception class for your project" concept wrong? I really think I am missing something here.

Thank you all.

EDIT: