Hi..! i need to make a trial period software. Do anyone knows how to do it. I have gone through many links and still searching in google, but everywhere i found only some points mentioning about the way of doing it, but no one explains about how to do it...

i need to make a 30days validity period software such that if a user installs it in one PC then it must run for 30days only, irrespective of changing the system time. Can anyone give me some link or give me some code of doing it....

Any help from you will highly be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Thank you for your reply. But i downloaded the source file and found all are in asp.net code. But below is given some description, which i tried to understand but where to implement the code..... whether i have to use different classes....?? please suggest me.... as i am completely new to this and have no idea about it.

when you first run your application, you write a properties folder containing the current date, which equals the date of the first day the application ran.

next times you run it, you compare the system date with the date which is stored into the file.

off course, you could also store the 'number of days' in this file, and subtract one every time you run the program, but naturally this will not give the same result.

a few things to consider though:
- the user may NOT be able to simple edit the date in the file, so you might want to hide it, or encode the information before you write it to the file.
- the application should not be able to run unless it can find and read the file, otherwise you won't be able to compare the dates
- if your application uses a database, you could off course put the original date in a separate table in the database
- naturally, if the user is able to change the system date on his own system, there goes that option .. there it might be a bit more reliable to store both the original date in combination with some sort of 'nr of days left' counter