I am new to Java and as an exercise I am trying to develop the following: 2 JPanels on a JFrame where 1 of the JPanels can be used for drawing. I started from an example from Daniweb from 2010 but can't seem to get a graphic context because the compiler gives me a null pointer exception. The program compiles and runs fine with the g.drawRect(100,0,150,50); commented out. The broader question is, how do I tell the program that I want to draw in a specific panel? My code is enclosed -- what am I doing wrong? Thanks, Bobonoinc

import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.EventQueue;
import java.awt.Graphics;
import javax.swing.JFrame;
import javax.swing.JPanel;
import java.awt.FlowLayout;

public class LinePaintDemo extends JPanel{

@Override
    protected void paintComponent(Graphics g) {
        super.paintComponent(g);
        g.setColor(Color.BLUE);
        g.drawLine(0, 0, getWidth(), getHeight());
        g.drawLine(getWidth(), 0, 0, getHeight());
    }

public static void main(String[] args) {
    EventQueue.invokeLater(new Runnable() {
        public void run() {
            JFrame frame = new JFrame();
            frame.setSize(300,300);                  
            frame.setLayout(new FlowLayout(FlowLayout.LEFT));
            frame.setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);

JPanel contPanel = new JPanel();
            contPanel.setBackground(Color.red);
            contPanel.setPreferredSize(new Dimension(50, frame.getSize().height));
            frame.add(contPanel);

LinePaintDemo canvase = new LinePaintDemo();
            canvase.setBackground(Color.green);
            canvase.setPreferredSize(new Dimension(200, frame.getSize().height)); 
            frame.add(canvase);

Graphics g = canvase.getGraphics();
//       g.drawRect(100,0,150,50);

frame.setVisible(true);
        }
    });
  }
}

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

frame.setVisible(true);
Graphics g = canvase.getGraphics();
g.drawRect(0,0,50,50);