I am currently working on writing a simple vending machine that dispenses just one drink, I am just a beginner at this so I would appreciate some help from this community.

package assignment1;

public class VendingMachine
extends java.lang.Object{
	// fields
	java.lang.String givenDrinkName;
	private int givenDrinkPrice;
	private static final int INITIAL_BALANCE = 0;
	private int balance;

// constructors
	public VendingMachine() {
		givenDrinkName = "juicy";
		balance = INITIAL_BALANCE;
	}

public void insertCoin(int amount) {
		balance = amount;
	}

public int getBalance () {
		return balance;
	}

public int makeChange() {
		int change = balance;
		balance = 0;
		return balance;
	}

public java.lang.String dispense() {
		return givenDrinkName;
	}
}

Now I know I need a main method (possibly public static void main(String[] args)) but where does this go? and will my script work? The vending machine is supposed to dispense a drink, tell you the balance, make change, and be able to insert the amount to purchase the drink. I don't believe this script has to be that specific but I am wondering if this script works

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Member Avatar for hfx642

It is customary to put the "main" method after your constructor "VendingMachine",
but before your other methods.
At least... That's what I do.
Look at programming examples to see what you should put in a "main" method.
It should be fairly sparse.

What does makeChange() method do??? Currently, what it does is to reset the "balance" variable to 0 and return 0. Nothing else?

public int makeChange() {
  int change = balance;  // copy balance value to "change" local variable
  balance = 0;           // reset balance to 0
  return balance;        // return balance which is 0 ???
}