Member Avatar for Morley93

Hi all, I'm a long time reader of the forums and thought this would be a good place to ask a question. For the record, I am very new to Java!

Basically, I have a MainClass which inherits JFrame, the constructor for which sets window size, title etc. It also adds a new instance of my class Board. In my constructor for Board, I try to set the background color, but I still have the grey background when I interpret using Eclipse. I know for a fact that Board is being added to the JFrame due to other things that I've painted to it.

Here's my MainClass

import javax.swing.JFrame; //Allows the game to use a window

public class MainClass extends JFrame{
	//Main/program opening method
	public static void main(String args[]){
		new MainClass();
	}

//Constructor
	public MainClass(){
		add(new Board());
		setDefaultCloseOperation(EXIT_ON_CLOSE); //Ensures that the program ends properly
		setSize(520, 545); //Sets the size of the window
		setLocationRelativeTo(null); //Makes the window start in the centre of the screen
		setTitle("Revision Game"); //Title-bar
		setResizable(false); //The window can't be resized
		setVisible(true); //Ensures the window is visible
	}	
}

And here's constructor of the JPanel Board that I'm trying to change the background of.

import java.awt.Color; //Allows the use of colour
import javax.swing.JPanel; //Allows the board to make a new panel in the window

public class Board extends JPanel{
	//Constructor
	public Board(){
		setBackground(Color.black);
		initGame();
	}
}

There's a lot of code that I've omitted, but I've tried to include everything that's relevant.

Any Ideas?
Thanks in advance!

Morley

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Member Avatar for hfx642

Yes... You want to set the colour of your JPanels that you are using.
ie My_Pnl.setBackground (Color.BLACK);

Well seeing as Board extends JPanel and setBackground() is used in the constructor, shouldn't this work?