When I export the program to a executive Jar, file.txt does not import. The file.txt is in my src folder. Everything works file when i run the program in eclipse but when i export it, it does not import. HELP, I am new to Java and everything.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

define "import"?
your .jar file is supposed to contain your .class file (and, if you want, your code and stuff like images) but an input file to use and handle shouldn't really be in there anyway.

When I export the program to a executive Jar, file.txt does not import. The file.txt is in my src folder. Everything works file when i run the program in eclipse but when i export it, it does not import. HELP, I am new to Java and everything.

because it is now packaged in your jar which can be verified by simply renaming extension to .zip and checking its contents the file can no longer be accessed normally when exexuting from within a jar archive. if the file is there you will have to extract it from your jar resource at runtime check this link here:http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5957589/load-resource-from-jar-file-at-runtime and here:http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t134544-load-images-and-text-file-from-jar-file.html

If you want to package other R/O files in your jar file you will have to use the getResource methods to read the file. You should be able to put any input file into your jar file.

Here is the code. can someone do the ger referance thing??? im comfused

BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(
	   	          new InputStreamReader(new FileInputStream("src/timezones.txt")));

h = 0;					

StreamTokenizer tstream = new StreamTokenizer(br);
	   		         tstream.parseNumbers();
	   		         tstream.nextToken();

while (tstream.ttype != StreamTokenizer.TT_EOF) {

a[h] = (int) tstream.nval;   
	   		             tstream.nextToken();

city[h] = (String) tstream.sval;
	   		             tstream.nextToken();

b[h] = (int) tstream.nval;
	   		             tstream.nextToken();